Recent Iowa DOT awards

AwardsThe Iowa DOT is focused on making lives better through transportation. Whether we are working to put safety first or focusing on our customers, innovation and leadership are at the heart of the work we do. Sometimes that innovation and leadership earns us attention and accolades from our industry partners and peers. We are proud of the business units and individuals across the Iowa DOT who have been recognized for the following awards.







Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance

  • Lorenzen-Leadership-Plaque
    Dave Lorenzen (left) receives the President's Award from a CVSA official.
    Safety Enforcement Award - First place in the nation for medium-size states in 2020 and 2021, presented to states with the most productive and focused safety enforcement programs in terms of cost-efficiency, traffic enforcement, and data quality.
  • Safety Enforcement Improvement Honorable Mention - Honorable mention in 2020, recognized states with the greatest improvement to their safety enforcement programs.
  • New Entrant Safety Audit Award - First place in the nation for medium-size states in 2021, presented to states with the highest percentage of on-time new entrant safety audits completed on interstate carriers in FY 2019.
  • Data Quality Award - First place in the nation for medium-size states, which recognizes states with the highest average data quality score across nine state safety data quality measures for FY 2019.
  • CVSA Leadership Award – Presented to Dave Lorenzen, Systems Operations Division director in recognition of his leadership, service, professionalism, and dedication to the CVSA in supporting its mission to improve uniformity in commercial motor vehicle safety and enforcement
  • President’s Award – Also presented to Dave Lorenzen in recognition and appreciation for significant contributions to the mission of the CVSA. 


American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Committee on Transportation Communications


 National Operations Centers of Excellence

NOcoE case study


American Concrete Paving Association Awards for Excellence in Concrete Paving

Three DOT projects were awarded, competing locally and nationally with hundreds of projects:

  • Overlays (Streets and Roads) Award – Iowa 14 Overlay
  • Divided Highways (Rural) Award Interstate 29 Reconstruction
  • Divided Highways (Rural) Award –S. Highway 20 Reconstruction

Marlin J Knutson Award for Technical Achievement – Awarded to former Iowa DOT employee Todd Hanson. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to advancing the development and implementation of technical innovations – as well as best practices – for the design and construction of concrete pavements. For more information on this award, go to


Iowa Concrete Paving Association

Each year the ICPA recognizes excellence in concrete paving.

ICPA award for Interstate
(From left) Dustin Skogerboe, Iowa DOT Marshalltown Resident Construction Engineer; Tom Bonner, Cedar Valley Corp Project Manager; and Mitchell Dillavou, Iowa DOT Chief Engineer

Interstate Category I-80 in Jasper County. The project was completed by Cedar Valley Corp., LLC under the guidance of the Iowa DOT’s Marshalltown construction office and Dustin Skogerboe.

ICPA award for state road
(From left) Mitchell Dillavou, Iowa DOT Chief Engineer, and Hugh Holak, Iowa DOT Manchester Resident Construction Engineer

State Road category Dubuque County. U.S. 52/Iowa 3 from Tollgate Road to Luxemburg. The project was led by the Iowa DOT’s Manchester construction office and Hugh Holak. The prime contractor was CJ Moyna & Sons, LLC with industry partners Horsfield Construction, Inc. (paving) and Horsfield Materials, Inc. (Ready Mix).

ICPA award for concrete overlay
(From left) Darwin Bishop, Iowa DOT District 3 Construction Engineer; Mitchell Dillavou, Iowa DOT Chief Engineer; and Craig Hughes, Cedar Valley Corp Vice President of Field Operations

Concrete Overlay category Iowa 31 from Correctionville to Washta in Woodbury, Ida, and Cherokee counties. The project was led by Todd Huju and Darwin Bishop of the Iowa DOT’s District 3 Office. Cedar with Valley Corp., LLC was the prime contractor.


ICPA award for divided highway
(From left) Mitchell Dillavou, Iowa DOT Chief Engineer; Andy Boehmer, Iowa DOT New Hampton Construction Technician Senior; Ron Loecher, Iowa DOT New Hampton Resident Construction Engineer; and Tom Bonner, Cedar Valley Corp Project Manager.

Divided Highway category U.S. 20 project from U.S. 63 to Iowa 21 in Waterloo. The project was led by Ron Loecher and the Iowa DOT’s New Hampton construction office. Cedar Valley Corp., LLC was the prime contractor.


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Have a comment?


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.