One of our own garners top safety officer honors

(from left) Sgt. Rod Rhiner, Officer Joe Nickell, Cpt. Robert Johnson

Motor Vehicle Officer Joe Nickell was recently named the 2014 Traffic Safety Officer of the Year Award from the Central Iowa Traffic Safety Task Force.

Nominations for the award come from the supervisors of the many law enforcement agencies tasked with policing central Iowa. Nickell was nominated by his supervisor, Captain Robert Johnson.

Capt. Johnson said, “Officer Nickell has a real commitment to traffic enforcement and his focus on safety is appreciated.” Officer Nickell primarily works in several counties south of the Des Moines metro area. In addition to his traffic enforcement duties Officer Niickel has provided assistance for stranded vehicles and drivers.

Nickell said, “I don’t think I’m doing anything out of the ordinary. Since I work a mostly rural area, I think there might just be more people speeding and doing other things they shouldn’t be doing. We’re trying to save lives by getting them to slow down, buckle up and drive sober.”

He continued,” As most of us know, as state employees, we don’t get a lot of public recognition. It meant a lot to receive the award and will for a long time to come.”


Note: The Central Iowa Traffic Safety Task Force is an organization that is comprised of law enforcement members throughout the Des Moines Metro area. The group promotes safety through enforcement, education, and awareness. They hold monthly meetings and plan monthly enforcement projects.


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Have a comment?


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.